Criminal Justice is one of those public policy areas that is primarily the responsibility of local governments. Since criminals don't always respect jurisdictional lines, there is a need for some measure of regional coordination and cooperation.

Regional Purpose

There are a number of state and federal programs that provide money for some law enforcement activities. TCOG's Criminal Justice Program helps with these coordination efforts by working with the Governor's Criminal Justice Division, the regional law enforcement community, and local policymakers to develop and maintain a regional criminal justice community plan.

Victims of Crime

Victims of crime often need assistance to recover from their ordeal. TCOG's Criminal Justice Program and the Governor's Criminal Justice Division provide funds to area agencies that serve victims in the Texoma Region.

Keeping Schools Safe

Keeping schools in the Texoma Region safe takes time, energy and money. Through TCOG and the Governor's Criminal Justice Division, area schools and communities can apply for funds to promote drug and weapon-free schools and neighborhoods.

Meet the Team

Criminal Justice

CJ Durbin-Higgins, CFM

Public Safety Program Manager


Criminal Justice Advisory Committee

Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Members
Mr. Chris Cypert
Judge, Municipal Court - City of Gainesville
Mr. Mike Bankston
Police Chief - City of Bonham
Vice Chairman
Mrs. Sandy Barber
Director - Fannin County Children's Center
Mr. Tim Barnes
Chief of Police - Van Alstyne Police Department
Mr. Brandon Caffee
Director - Fannin County Juvenile Probation
Ms. Faith Ann Cheek
Bonham Independent School District
Ms. Kim Cook
Executive Director - Abigail's Arms
Ms. Cherie Fry
Concerned Citizen - Grayson County
Mr. Richard Glaser
District Attorney - Fannin County
Ms. Toni Hellman
Cooke County Juvenile Probation
Ms. Erin Holt M. Ed., LPC
Licensed Professional Counselor -
Mr. Brian Jones
Grayson County Adult Probation
Mr. Jason Kirk
Deputy Chief - Grayson County Adult Probation
Mr. Jerry Metzler
CASA of North Texas
Ms. Martha Nuckols
Children's Advocacy Representative - Grayson County Children's Advocacy Center
Ms. Kim Parsons
Director of Special Projects - Gainesville ISD
Mr. Kevin Phillips
Chief of Police - City of Gainesville
Ms. Carol Pillars
Executive Director - Fannin County Family Crisis Center
Ms. Debra Roberts
Chief of Adult Probation - Fannin County
Ms. Vicki Robertson
Executive Director - Cooke County Court Appointed Special Advocate
Ms. Shelli Shields
Executive Director - Grayson County Crisis Center
Mr. Brett Smith
Grayson County District Attorney's Office
Ms. Lisa Tyler
Executive Director - Substance Abuse Council
Ms. Molly Van Deusen LPC
Licensed Professional Counselor - Cooke County Counseling
Honorable Tom Watt
Sheriff - Grayson County


Meeting Minutes

No Criminal Justice Advisory Committee Meeting minutes are available.